Created 1st July 1837. In Middlesex until 1889.
Sub-districts : Amwell; City Road; Clerkenwell; Finsbury; Goswell Street; Holborn; North Clerkenwell; Old Street; Pentonville; Saffron Hill; St. Andrew Eastern; St. Andrew Holborn; St. George the Martyr; St. James Clerkenwell; St. Luke; South Clerkenwell; Whitecross Street.
GRO volumes : II (1837-51); 1b (1852-1930).
Charterhouse, Clerkenwell (from 1869), Finsbury, Furnival's Inn, Glasshouse Yard (from 1902), Gray's Inn, Lincoln's Inn; Saffron Hill, Hatton Gardens, Ely Rents and Ely Place; St. Andrew Holborn, St. George the Martyr, St. Luke (from 1869), St. Sepulchre (from 1845), Staple Inn.
Registers now divided between Islington and Camden districts.