Created 1st July 1837. Abolished 1st January 1926 (incorporated into Stepney district). In Middlesex until 1889.
Sub-districts : Aldgate; Artillery; Goodman's Fields; Mile End New Town; Spitalfields; Whitechapel; Whitechapel Church; Whitechapel North.
GRO volumes : II (1837-51); 1c (1852-1925).
Holy Trinity Minories, Mile End New Town, Norton Folgate, Old Artillery Ground, Old Tower Without, St. Botolph without Aldgate, St. Katharine by the Tower, Spitalfields, Tower of London, Whitechapel.
Registers now in Tower Hamlets district.