*First created in 1836, Noble County was formed from a portion of LaGrange County which had itself been organized, in 1832, from Allen County. [Handybook says Elkhart, LaGrange, Allen Counties 20050116BJZ]
*County seat: Albion.
Located in northeastern Indiana. [next to Elkhart County 20050116BJZ]
*Cities, Towns & Communities (past &/or present) include: Albion, Avilla, Bakertown, Brimfield, Burr Oak, Cosperville, Cromwell, Ege, Green Center, Grismore, Hawville, Indian Village, Kendallville, Kimmell, LaOtto, Ligonier, Lisbon, Merriam (Noblesville), Ormas, Potters Station, Port Mitchell, Rochester, Rome City, Springfield, Swan, Washington Center, Wawaka, Wilmot, and Wolf Lake.

Originally, the area now known as Noble County was said to have been almost covered with a very heavy growth of timber, consisting princially of oak, beech, maple, ash, tulip, walnut, hickory, and many more varieties. There were also small areas of prairie land, extensive marsh areas, and, reportedly, about 150 lakes of varying sizes. Though marsh lands have been drained, giving way to much appreciated farmland, most of the picturesque lakes remain.
Tradition has it that the first building erected in the county was the grand council house, built as early as 1820, for the Indian Chief "Flat Belly". It was located on a six mile square "reservation" situated in present day Sparta and Washington Townships, of Noble County, and Turkey Creek and Tippecanoe Townships of Kosciusko. According to Indian accounts, this building, constructed of brick manufactured on the reservation, was destroyed by a great storm.